TLM Music Publications Home Page
CLEF Click the clef to hear the Overture to The Mikado by W.S. GILBERT and Sir Arthur SULLIVAN. It was orchestrated by Sullivan's assistant Hamilton Clarke using selections from the composer's own music; the final page of the manuscript bears the note: "Overture designed & scored within 30 hours. H.C."
The first production opened at Richard D'Oyly Carte's Savoy Theatre, just off The Strand in London's West End, on Saturday, 14th March 1885 and ran for 672 performances - a record in those days.

The famous "Three Little Maids from school are we" motif, in the composer's own handwriting


TLM Music Publications Home Page

A great deal has changed since I first set this site up 13 years ago in 1999. For one thing, I suffered a minor stroke in 2002 and another in 2006 that was rather more serious and which has left me with a debilitating speech disability and also robbed me of the manual dexterity needed to play my violin or even write with a pen. Fortunately, I am still able to type and so I can still use my computer.

The Finale program has undergone considerable expansion over the past 13 years and my skill at using it has also increased significantly. In addition, I also discovered the IMSLP (International Music Score Library Project) website, which has a copy of the not-very-reliable handwritten Bosworth Mikado score dating from about 1895 (reprinted by Kalmus in the 1980s), and I have recently managed to obtain a complete set of the original D'Oyly Carte band parts, from which I am curently constructing a new edition of the full score. So far, I have only completed the overture and the whole of Act I (including the dialogue), apat from the First Act Finale; you can take a look at the result here.

The original score is still available and you can download the entire opera just by clicking the link below; the file is about 10.4Mb.

Alternatively you can view the entire score online in HTML format by clicking here.

Click here to download the entire score

Alternatively, for the convenience of those with slower dial-up modems, I have divided the score into six sections of 40 pages each (okay, there are 43 pages in the last section):

Part 1
pp. 1-40
Part 2
pp. 41-80
Part 3
pp. 81-120
Part 4
pp. 121-160
Part 5
pp. 161-200
Part 6
pp. 201-243

You will need the Adobe® Acrobat® Reader® to view and print these files. To get the latest version, click the button below:

Your comments on these score pages would be most appreciated and any constructive criticisms will be considered. In particular, please please PLEASE PLEASE do notify me about any typos you may come across, no matter how insignificant - a corrected version will be posted as quickly as possible. Click here to contact me.

Last updated: Sunday, 26th April, 2009

Other music from TLM Music Publications

Antique French violin for sale

PDF File Merger